World Leader’s Summit, COP26


Glasgow Leaders’ Declaration on Forests and Land Use

We, the leaders of the countries identified below: 

Emphasise the critical and interdependent roles of forests of all types, biodiversity and sustainable land use in enabling the world to meet its sustainable development goals; to help achieve a balance between anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions and removal by sinks; to adapt to climate change; and to maintain other ecosystem services.  

Reaffirm our respective commitments, collective and individual, to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Paris Agreement, the Convention on Biological  Diversity, the UN Convention to Combat Desertification, the Sustainable Development Goals; and other relevant initiatives.  

Reaffirm our respective commitments to sustainable land use, and to the conservation, protection, sustainable management and restoration of forests, and other terrestrial  ecosystems. 

Recognise that to meet our land use, climate, biodiversity and sustainable development goals, both globally and nationally, will require transformative further action in the  interconnected areas of sustainable production and consumption; infrastructure development; trade; finance and investment; and support for smallholders, Indigenous Peoples, and local communities, who depend on forests for their livelihoods and have a key role in their stewardship. 

Highlight the areas of strong progress in recent years and the opportunities before us to accelerate action. 

We therefore commit to working collectively to halt and reverse forest loss and land degradation by 2030 while delivering sustainable development and promoting an inclusive rural transformation.  

We will strengthen our shared efforts to: 

  1. Conserve forests and other terrestrial ecosystems and accelerate their restoration; 
  2. Facilitate trade and development policies, internationally and domestically, that promote sustainable development, and sustainable commodity production and consumption, that work to countries’ mutual benefit, and that do not drive deforestation and land degradation;
  3. Reduce vulnerability, build resilience and enhance rural livelihoods, including through empowering communities, the development of profitable, sustainable agriculture, and recognition of the multiple values of forests, while recognising the rights of Indigenous Peoples, as well as local communities, in accordance with relevant national legislation and international instruments, as appropriate;
  4. Implement and, if necessary, redesign agricultural policies and programmes to incentivise sustainable agriculture, promote food security, and benefit the environment; 
  5. Reaffirm international financial commitments and significantly increase finance and investment from a wide variety of public and private sources, while also improving its effectiveness and accessibility, to enable sustainable agriculture, sustainable forest management, forest conservation and restoration, and support for Indigenous Peoples and local communities; 
  6. Facilitate the alignment of financial flows with international goals to reverse forest loss and degradation, while ensuring robust policies and systems are in place to accelerate the transition to an economy that is resilient and advances forest, sustainable land use, biodiversity and climate goals. 

We urge all leaders to join forces in a sustainable land use transition. This is essential to meeting the Paris Agreement goals, including reducing vulnerability to the impacts of  climate change and holding the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2°C and pursuing efforts to limit it to 1.5°C, noting that the science shows further  acceleration of efforts is needed if we are to collectively keep 1.5°C within reach. Together we can succeed in fighting climate change, delivering resilient and inclusive growth, and  halting and reversing forest loss and land degradation.

NEW ENDORSEMENTS SINCE 10/11/21: The Holy See, Nicaragua, Singapore, Turkmenistan




Total: 145

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Angola
  4. Argentina
  5. Armenia
  6. Australia
  7. Austria
  8. Azerbaijan
  9. Bangladesh
  10. Belgium
  11. Belarus
  12. Belize
  13. Bhutan
  14. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  15. Botswana
  16. Brazil
  17. Brunei Darussalam
  18. Bulgaria
  19. Burkina Faso
  20. Cambodia
  21. Cameroon
  22. Canada
  23. Central African Republic
  24. Chad
  25. Chile
  26. China
  27. Colombia
  28. Costa Rica
  29. Côte d’Ivoire
  30. Croatia
  31. Cuba
  32. Cyprus
  33. Czechia
  34. Denmark
  35. Dominican Republic
  36. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  37. Ecuador
  38. El Salvador
  39. Equatorial Guinea
  40. Estonia
  41. Eswatini
  42. European Commission on behalf of the European Union
  43. Fiji
  44. Finland
  45. France
  46. Gabon
  47. Georgia
  48. Germany
  49. Ghana
  50. Greece
  51. Grenada
  52. Guatemala
  53. Guinea Bissau
  54. Guyana
  55. Haiti
  56. Holy See
  57. Honduras
  58. Hungary
  59. Iceland
  60. Indonesia
  61. Ireland
  62. Israel
  63. Italy
  64. Jamaica
  65. Japan
  66. Kazakhstan
  67. Kenya
  68. Kyrgyzstan
  69. Latvia
  70. Lebanon
  71. Liberia
  72. Liechtenstein
  73. Lithuania
  74. Luxembourg
  75. Madagascar
  76. Malawi
  77. Malaysia
  78. Mali
  79. Malta
  80. Mauritius
  81. Mexico
  82. Moldova
  83. Monaco
  84. Mongolia
  85. Montenegro
  86. Morocco
  87. Mozambique
  88. Nepal
  89. Netherlands
  90. New Zealand
  91. Nicaragua
  92. Niger
  93. Nigeria
  94. North Macedonia
  95. Norway
  96. Pakistan
  97. Panama
  98. Papua New Guinea
  99. Paraguay
  100. Peru
  101. Philippines
  102. Poland
  103. Portugal
  104. Republic of the Congo
  105. Romania
  106. Russia
  107. Rwanda
  108. Saint Lucia
  109. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  110. Samoa
  111. San Marino
  112. Sao Tome and Principe
  113. Senegal
  114. Serbia
  115. Seychelles
  116. Sierra Leone
  117. Singapore
  118. Slovakia
  119. Slovenia
  120. Somalia
  121. South Korea
  122. Spain
  123. Sri Lanka
  124. Suriname
  125. Sweden
  126. Switzerland
  127. Syria
  128. Tanzania
  129. Thailand
  130. Togo
  131. Tonga
  132. Turkey
  133. Turkmenistan
  134. Uganda
  135. Ukraine
  136. United Arab Emirates
  137. United Kingdom
  138. United States of America
  139. Uruguay
  140. Uzbekistan
  141. Vanuatu
  142. Vietnam
  143. Zambia
  144. Zimbabwe

12th November 2021 (6pm)